SAGA Central Region AGM cum Fellowship Night

Sarawak Australian Graduates Association (SAGA) Central Region held its Annual General Meeting (AGM) cum Fellowship Night on 17 May 2014 at Tanahmas Hotel, Sibu, Sarawak. At the event, its Chairman Temenggong Vincent Lau, stressed the importance to recruit young Australian graduates to lead the association. “The association had recruited a lot of members since its formation. However, the number of active members has reduced greatly since many of them moved out of Sibu for various reasons,” he said, adding that a lot of activities could not be carried out.

“We must work to ensure our association not only serve the needs of members but contribute to the program and development of the Central Region and Sibu.” The chairman said the association needed cohesive effort, unity and support from Australian graduates living in Sibu and other towns in the central region of Sarawak.

He said in recent years, many Australian universities had set up branches in Malaysia. The association was also open to those who study and graduate from these campuses. The association formed nine years ago in 2005 used to be a branch of Sarawak Australian Graduates Association (SAGA) based in Kuching. For various reasons, it was registered as a separate organisation with the Registrar of Society. The chairman hoped SAGA in the central region would be able to promote greater interaction and unity among the members.

Earlier under the patronage of then Chief Minister Pehin Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud, the Australian Universities International Convention was held once every two years on a rotation basis in and outside Australia. Lau said the convention was important for Australian graduates to gather to attend the symposium and have fellowship. Saga sent delegates to the convention. Saga had over the years organized career talks, speech contests, singing competitions and pre-departure orientations for students who wish to further their studies in Australia. The office bearers for the 2012-2013 term remain unchanged for the 2014-2015 term.