Go Kart 2016

The MAAC Annual Go-Kart Challenge is one of MAAC’s signature events and is organised successfully on Saturday morning, August 6, 2016 at the Sepang International Circuit. There was a tremendous response with big participation from various Australian Alumni with a total of 25 teams participating in the challenge representing their respective university alumni chapters. Since there are a lot more teams participating this year, the race was separated into 2 sessions. As Monash University Alumni is the returning champion for 10th consecutive year, this race was more stressful for the team. This year also saw more ladies participating as we now have an additional rule of having at least a female player in each team. The other teams that competed include teams from the University of Technology Sydney, Murdoch University, Curtin University, The University of Melbourne, Swinburne University of Technology, Australian National University, University of Newcastle, The University of Sydney, The University of Adelaide, University of Wollongong, Victoria University, University of New South Wales and University of South Australia. Everyone was treated to vegetarian noodles for breakfast, with bottled water drinks sponsored by The MAAC President. Everyone was excited and ready to take on the track at the completion of registration and briefing.

The Australian High Commission was represented by Ms. Petronila Maurice, Deputy Director of Department Education Australia as our guest of honour. Other guests include Ms Anahita who represented KPJ Health as one of the event partner and sponsor. Petronila gave a short speech about the importance of Alumni engagement activities. After all the formalities, Petronila, accompanied by Pat PW Yeoh, President of The MAAC, Adrian Ong, Vice President (Alumni Relations), Nicole Lim, Vice President (Bilateral Relations) and Jane Teh, Vice President (Education & Welfare), officiated and circled the circuit, followed by a flag off by Petronila, Pat, Adrian, Nicole and Jane setting the endurance race off for the next hour in a 2 session race.

With fine weather throughout the race, everyone were excited as their respective teams passed by the Grand Stand and were seen actively taking pictures while making new friends. KPJ Health also sent a medical team to support the event. After the race ended, everyone waited anxiously for the results while it was being tabulated. KPJ Health was given an opportunity for a few words, followed by The MAAC President’s remark before the prize giving ceremony. Adrian Ong reminded the participants that any teams caught cheating or not following certain rules of the competition will be disqualified immediately. As the results were announced, this year’s champion went to Murdoch University Alumni, followed by Sydney University Alumni as first runner-up and Monash University Alumni as second runner up. The University of Adelaide Alumni won the wooden kart prize. It was indeed a surprise win for the teams this year. The MAAC would like to thank KPJ Health and WD40 for their sponsorship of prizes for the event, Australian High Commission in Malaysia and The MAAC Executive Committee for their assistance at the event. Thank you all for your support and see you again next year! For those who would like to see more of the Go-Kart Event pictures please go to our album here.