The MAAC 17th Annual Go-Kart Challenge 2017

This year, The MAAC 17th Annual Go-Kart Challenge was organised successfully on Saturday morning, August 5, 2017 at the Sepang International Circuit. There were a total of 15 teams participating in the challenge representing their respective university alumni chapters. This year, the Murdoch University Alumni team faced the challenge to defend the championship title as they were the champion last year. The other teams that competed include teams from the University of Technology Sydney, Australian National University, University of Newcastle, The University of Sydney, University of South Australia, Victoria State Government Business Office, WD40 and other Australian Alumni. Everyone started their day with preparations for the event and had vegetarian noodles for breakfast while bottled water drinks were sponsored by The MAAC President, Ms. Pat PW Yeoh. WD40 was invited to be the event partner and have sponsored many generous prizes for the winners.

Go Kart event partner, WD40, was represented by Regional Director Mr Marcus Chen who is an alumnus of Charles Sturt University and Country Manager Ms Susan Chek, who is an alumnus of Curtin University. Ms Celia Yeo, Deputy Director of Victoria State Government Business Office was also the event guest of honour as the Australian High Commissioner was unable to attend. Marcus Chen was invited to give a few words, followed by Celia before the start of the event. After all the formalities, Marcus and Celia, accompanied by Pat PW Yeoh, President of The MAAC, Adrian Ong, Vice President (Alumni Relations), Nicole Lim, Vice President (Bilateral Relations) and Jane Teh, Vice President (Education & Welfare), officiated and circled the circuit, followed by a flag off by Marcus, Celia, Pat, Adrian, Nicole and Jane, setting the endurance race off for the next hour.

With fine weather throughout the race, everyone were excited as their respective teams passed by the Grand Stand and were seen actively taking pictures while making new friends. After the race ended, everyone waited anxiously for the results while it was being tabulated. The MAAC President, Pat PW Yeoh was invited to give a short remark before the prize giving ceremony. When the results were announced, Murdoch University Alumni claimed the challenge trophy as returning champion, followed by Murdoch University Alumni second team as first runner-up and the Down Under team, a combination of alumni from different Australian universities claimed the prize for second runner-up. The Victoria State Government Business Office won the wooden kart prize. It was a joyful occasion for celebrations with the spraying of sparkling juice at the champion team. The MAAC would like to thank WD40 for their generous sponsorship of prizes for the event, Victoria State Government Business Office and The MAAC Executive Committee for their assistance at the event. Thank you all for your support and see you again next year! For those who would like to see more of the Go-Kart Event photos please go to our album here.