2012 MAAC Go-Kart Challenge

The MAAC’s signature Go-Kart Challenge returned on September 8, 2012 at the Shah Alam City Karting Circuit. The morning weather seemed gloomy with a slight drizzle but as soon as the teams and their fans arrived, sunshine followed – The MAAC Exco believed that the sunshine was brought on by the beautiful Deputy High Commissioner of Australia in Kuala Lumpur, Ms. Jane Duke and her lovely family.

As the weather got warmer, so did the team spirit. After finishing their nasi lemak breakfast and downing some water, they were all eagerly waiting to get to the pit. As usual, the Monash team came in full racing outfit hoping to defend their title as champions for the 7th year.

Mr. Adrian Ong, the MAAC Vice President of Alumni Relations started the ball rolling with a short introduction and announcement. Thereafter, the Deputy High Commissioner of Australia was asked to say a few words where she spoke about team spirit and the unity of Malaysian graduates from the various Australian universities through their respective alumni chapters. Ms. Duke was then given the honour to officiate the race by taking a double kart with her son, Matthew while her husband, Simon took their daughter, Grace on another double kart right behind her round the circuit twice.

After all the formalities were done with, the participants were given a briefing by the City Karting authorities on safety as well as the ‘Dos’ and ‘Don’ts’. While this was being conducted, the Deputy High Commissioner and her family together with the MAAC President, Ms. Pat PW Yeoh and Gloria, the daughter of Dr. Angelina Yee, the MAAC Vice President of Education & Welfare decided to go for another spin round the circuit.

There were 9 teams where 3 only had 3 participants but that did not deter their spirit as they chose their karts. All teams were give 2 helmets each and the rule of the game is to have each team endure as many laps as possible in an hour where each participant is allowed on the circuit for approximately 10 minutes. Before the challenge begin, the teams of 3s and 4s were to ensure a qualifying round to determine their start position and for them to familiarise themselves with both the karts and the circuits. The qualifying round went for approximately 20 minutes.

The Deputy High Commissioner of Australia, Ms. Jane Duke was given the honour to flag off the race – let the race begin! The 9 teams include:

  • Monash University Alumni (2 teams)
  • University of South Australia Alumni (2 teams)
  • Curtin University Alumni
  • University of Technology Sydney Alumni (2 teams)
  • Newcastle University Alumni
  • Victoria University Alumni

The endurance race went on for about an hour before the checked flag was waved. All participants were then seen stepping on it hoping to get in one final lap before the results were tabulated.

The race was a success and there were not mishaps. As the participants quenched their thirst while waiting for the results, the MAAC President, Ms. Pat PW Yeoh decided to say a few words. She indicated that there will be a change in the race format in 2013 to ensure participations from more alumni chapters. She also thanked everyone for giving up their precious Saturdays to come together in alumni spirit amongst fellow graduates from Australian universities and thank the Deputy High Commissioner of Australia, Ms. Jane Duke for gracing the event.

When the results have been finalised, Mr. Adrian Ong, the MAAC Vice President of Alumni Relations took the stage again and thank everyone for their participation before announcing the results. This year, we also have a special prize for the only woman racer from Victoria University Alumni which was presented by the MAAC President, Ms. Pat PW Yeoh. The Wooden Kart prize was also presented by Ms. Pat PW Yeoh to Victoria University Alumni who came first from the bottom. The winners for 2012 were:

  • Monash University Alumni B
  • Monash University Alumni A
  • Curtin University Alumni

The winners were each presented with a medal by the Deputy High Commissioner of Australia, Ms. Jane Duke. The champion was also presented with the Challenge Trophy for the 7th year. Photo sessions followed and the day ended with yet another successful race. Till we meet again next year…