Murdoch University Alumni celebrating 15 years of activity and engagement in Malaysia

On Thursday October 22, Acting Vice Chancellor Andrew Taggart, Dean of Murdoch Singapore Peter Waring, VIP’s, academics and staff from alumni relations joined an enthusiastic crowd of Malaysian alumni at the beautiful Hotel Grand Millennium in Kuala Lumpur to celebrate the 15th anniversary of the founding of the Malaysian Alumni Chapter. Other invited VIP guests include Australian High Commission representative, Mr Damian Hickey; The MAAC President, Ms Pat Yeoh with her team Ms Nicole Lim (Vice President of Bilateral Relations) and Ms Chelsea Lai (Councillor, Education & Welfare); Curtin University Alumni Malaysian Chapter President, Mr Chew Siew Wai and UWA Graduate Association Malaysia, Mr Kamarulzaman Omar.

During the evening guests heard an inspiring address from Acting Vice Chancellor Andrew Taggart and he was delighted to be able to present each member of the Committee with a Certificate and special 15 year Anniversary Medallion to mark this very special occasion. Alumni Nicholas Khoo and Serena Sit shared personal reflections on their time as students and how their studies influenced and shaped their careers and life journeys. Chapter President Adrian Ong spoke about the past year’s activities and shared a moving video tribute to a former Chapter member who passed away during the year. Mr Ong also his thoughts on why alumni Chapters are an important part of life after graduation.

“Personally, I think the Chapter gives a sense of fellowship where all Murdoch graduates gather to share their experiences of Murdoch. Socialising and networking together, we get to discover things about Murdoch that some of us might not know. I am a very proud graduate of Murdoch, I love our alma mater very much and I always look forward to hearing news about Murdoch University’s achievements. I am always pleased when I hear recognition being given to Murdoch University by the world community. Involvement in the Chapter fosters friendship among graduates and is a great platform to share social, business and other opportunities with each other,” he said.

Throughout the night guests enjoyed a sumptuous sit-down dinner which was followed by a special anniversary cutting ceremony and the Chapter’s annual rollicking game of Pictionary. Alumni Relations would like to congratulate the following Committee on their 15th anniversary and thank them for their ongoing service to Murdoch University :

President : Mr. Adrian Ong Mun Hoe
Vice President : Mr. Arvin Danial
Honorary Secretary : Ms. Florence Kwan Sook Peng
Honorary Treasurer : Mr. Chok KenLee Richard
Committee Members :
Mr. Bryan Lai Xiong Wei
Ms. Hannah Lee
Ms. June ST Tan
Mr. Pek Chee Boon
Ms. Tham Seen Hau