Prestigious Australian Scholarships Awarded to High-Achieving Malaysians

Twelve Malaysian scholars and professionals have been awarded scholarships under the prestigious and highly competitive Australian Endeavour Awards programme this year.

The recipients will travel to Australia to pursue post graduate studies and professional development opportunities across a broad range of disciplines at Australian universities and research centres. This year, the total value of the scholarships is MYR3.3 million.

The scholarships are part of the 2012 “Australia Awards” programme, which provides opportunities for high-achieving students, researchers and professionals from around the world to travel to Australia for study, research or professional development in a broad range of disciplines. The programme also provides opportunities for Australians to do the same abroad.

Speaking at a reception to present the recipients with their scholarships, the Australian High Commissioner to Malaysia, H.E. Mr Miles Kupa, said that education has always been a central part of the Australia-Malaysia bilateral relationship.

“Through education exchanges such as the Endeavour Awards we continue the tradition of the Colombo Plan, where Australians and Malaysians contributed to greater understanding between both countries, and deep business and personal ties, which continue through the generations.

“The year 2012 marks the 60th anniversary of the first Colombo Plan scholars travelling between Australia and Malaysia, and I am pleased to be honouring a new generation of scholars who will no doubt further add to our strong bilateral relationship, and to Malaysia’s development,” he added.

Among this year’s Malaysian recipients of the Australian Endeavour Awards are assistant medical officer Mr Mustaffa Hamidon, who will undertake a clinical attachment in Sydney to train in advanced x-ray techniques, Ms Valene See Hsu Lin and Ms Shelisa Tey, both genetic experts researching the role of genetics in specific conditions, Ms Lee Pei Hsi from SUHAKAM undertaking a Masters in Human Rights Law and Policy, and Professor Aiman Mohd Sulaiman from the Faculty of Law at the International Islamic University, researching modern enforcement laws and policy.

Australian High Commissioner H.E. Mr Miles Kupa (fourth from right) and President of the Malaysian Australian Alumni Council (MAAC) Ms Pat Yeoh (second from left) together with the Malaysian recipients of the Australian Endeavour Awards at a ceremony held in Kuala Lumpur on 12 January 2011.

The Malaysia Australia Colombo Plan Commemoration Scholarships (MACC Scholarships) were also presented at this reception. The two recipients of the MACC Scholarships were Mr Tang Kai Dung, who will undertake his Health PhD at Queensland University of Technology and Mr Terence Theva Raj, who will undertake his Masters in Media Arts and Production at the University of Technology, Sydney.

The MACC Scholarship Programme is spearheaded and coordinated by the Malaysian Australian Alumni Council (MAAC), a national organisation for Malaysian Alumni Associations of Australian Universities, with the support of the Australian High Commission in Kuala Lumpur and the Australian Trade Commission (Austrade).

“This year marks the Council’s 10th year in facilitating Australian university scholarships in Malaysia and has since had more than 250 recipients study in both Australian and Malaysian educational institutions,” said Ms Pat Yeoh, President of the MAAC.

Mr Kupa commended the MAAC for its efforts in affording additional education opportunities for Malaysian students through its scholarship programme.